Smart City Makes First Corporate Donation for Steve Lieber Innovator Scholarship

Company Donates $15,000 to HIMSS Foundation to Support Strides in Healthcare Information Technology

Smart City Networks, America’s leading telecommunications provider for convention industry, has donated $15,000 to the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) Foundation in what is the first corporate donation for a new scholarship in honor of the society’s President and CEO Steve Lieber.

The donation, which Smart City CEO Martin Rubin presented, will fund the new Steve Lieber Innovator Scholarship. The scholarship will honor Lieber’s contributions to the health information technology industry during his 17-year tenure as CEO. Lieber is expected to retire at the end of 2017.

“Smart City Networks and Steve Lieber share a passion for innovation,” Rubin said. “Knowing the positive impact that Steve has made throughout his career, Smart City Networks couldn’t think of a better way to honor Steve than this scholarship program to fuel the next generation of leaders in health care.”

Smart City has had a longstanding relationship with HIMSS and has provided technology and internet services to the society’s annual conference for ten years. The 2017 HIMSS Conference was held February 19 through 23 at the Orange County Convention Center, and Smart City serviced 280 booths at the conference.

“Our organizations are very closely aligned,” Rubin said. “We share very similar core values, and we wanted to recognize Steve’s impact on healthcare and health IT and his leadership during these years of tremendous change in these arenas.”

The Steve Lieber Innovator Scholarship will be awarded to a student who embraces the use of digital health or technology-enabled workflow innovation in support of the HIMSS mission of better health through information technology. The scholarship is open to any student pursuing a degree from an accredited collegiate undergraduate, graduate, or doctoral academic program.

Interested students can apply through Monday, September 25, 2017. Recipients will be notified of awards in December.